Ph.D. project: Stable strontium (88 / 86Sr) isotope systematics in quartz-carbonate veins from orogenic gold deposits in the Val d´Or region, Quebec

Carbonate precipitation and decarbonation reactions are frequently associated with hydrothermal fluids and gold mineralization. The Val-D'Or vein field (Louvicourt to Malartic) in the Abitibi subprovince is a typical example of this association. The vein field and associated orogenic gold deposits in this zone are characterized by the association of gold with sulphide-quartz-carbonate veins (+/- tourmaline and other accessory minerals). The stable isotopes (C, O, H) and the radiogenic isotopes of strontium (87/86Sr) of the different phases in the veins (quartz, carbonate, tourmaline) indicate that gold was deposited due to mixing between hydrothermal (metamorphic) fluids and shallow crustal waters. The metamorphic fluids are the product of the dehydration and decarbonation reactions of the Archean crust. We propose an innovative use of the stable isotopes of strontium (88/86Sr) to constrain the role of carbonation and decarbonation reactions associated with the formation of veins and gold precipitation. The main objective of this study is to build better exploration models and to better understand the origin of gold in orogenic gold deposits.

This main objective will be accomplished via the following three objectives: 

  1. Determine the degree of fractionation of stable isotopes of Sr in carbonates (calcite) in the veins, then determine whether the fractionation varies with the contribution of metamorphic fluids in the veins. 
  2. Determine whether the 88/86Sr ratios vary with other indices of hydrothermal composition of fluids (O, C, radiogenic Sr) due to a similar fractionation process or due to mixing of the fluids. 
  3. Use the data obtained from the previous objectives to construct a hydrothermal circulation model for the Val-d'Or gold vein field. Apply the new hydrothermal model to other regions of Abitibi and Quebec. 

The project will be led by Profs Stevenson (UQAM) and Beaudoin (Laval) in collaboration with the ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles du Québec (MERN) and funded by FRQNT (programme de recherche en partenariat sur le développement durable du secteur minier). The successful candidate will receive an annual scholarship of $ 25,000 per year for 3 years. 

Start: Summer / fall 2021

For more information, please contact Ross Stevenson (stevenson.ross [at] uqam.ca)

Projet de doctorat : Isotopes stables du strontium (88/86Sr) des veines de quartz-carbonate des gisements d’or orogénique dans la région de Val d’Or, Québec

Le champ filonien de Val-d’Or (Louvicourt à Malartic), sous-province d’Abitibi, est un exemple typique des gites d’or orogénique. Les gisements d'or orogénique de ce champ filonien sont caractérisés par des veines aurifères de sulfure-quartz-carbonate (+/- tourmaline et autres minéraux accessoires). Les isotopes stables (C, O, H) et l'isotope radiogénique du strontium (87/86Sr) des différentes minéraux filoniens (quartz, carbonate, tourmaline) indiquent que l'or s'est déposé lors du mélange de fluides hydrothermaux issus du métamorphisme avec des eaux crustales peu profondes. Les fluides métamorphiques du champ filonien sont le produit des réactions de déshydratation et de décarbonatation de la croûte archéenne. Nous proposons une utilisation novatrice des isotopes stables du strontium (88/86Sr) pour contraindre le rôle des réactions de carbonatation et de décarbonatation associées à la formation des veines et lors de la précipitation de l'or. L’objectif principal de cette étude est de construire de meilleurs modèles d’exploration et de mieux comprendre l’origine de l’or et des fluides hydrothermaux dans les gisements d’or orogéniques.

Cet objectif principal sera accompli en répondant aux trois objectifs suivants :

  1. Déterminer le degré de fractionnement des isotopes stables de Sr dans les carbonates (calcite) dans les veines, puis déterminer si le fractionnement varie avec la contribution des fluides métamorphiques dans les veines.  
  2. Déterminer si les rapports 88/86Sr varient selon d’autres indices de composition hydrothermale des fluides (O, C, Sr radiogénique) à cause d’un processus de fractionnement similaire ou à cause d’un mélange des fluides. 
  3. Utiliser les données obtenues à partir des objectifs précédents pour construire un modèle de circulation hydrothermal pour le champ filonien aurifère de Val-d’Or. Appliquer le nouveau modèle hydrothermal à d’autres régions de l’Abitibi et du Québec. 

 
Le projet sera dirigé par les professeurs Stevenson (UQAM) et Beaudoin (U. Laval) en collaboration avec le Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles (MERN) et financé par le FRQNT (programme de recherche en partenariat sur le développement durable du secteur minier). Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e) recevra une bourse annuelle de 25 000$ par an pour 3 ans. 

Début : Été/automne 2021
 
Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter Ross Stevenson (stevenson.ross [at] uqam.ca